World Book Capital City


In 1996 UNESCO initiated the concept of World Book Capital City and nominated Madrid as the Capital for the Year 2001. This was a success so the General Conference decided to make the designation an annual event.

The nomination does not include any financial prize, instead it acknowledges the best programmes dedicated to books and reading.

This year, 2015 the World Book Capital is Incheon, South Korea. In 2016 will be Wroclaw, Poland, who won the competition against three other cities, Brasilia (Brazil), Montilla (Spain) and Sharjah (United Arab Emirates).

For more information visit UNESCO website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.