Book Cover

Jerusalem

Author: Yotam Ottolenghi, Sami Tamimi

Language: English

Summary: Winner of the Observer Food Monthly Cookbook of the Year 2013.
Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi are the men behind the bestselling Ottolenghi: The Cookbook. Their chain of restaurants is famous for its innovative flavours, stylish design and superb cooking.

At the heart of Yotam and Sami’s food is a shared home city: Jerusalem. Both were born there in the same year, Sami on the Arab east side and Yotam in the Jewish west. Nearly 30 years later they met in London, and discovered they shared a language, a history, and a love of great food.

Continue reading “Jerusalem”

Book Cover

In Patagonia

Author: Bruce Chatwin

Language: English

Summary: An exhilarating look at a place that still retains the exotic mystery of a far-off, unseen land, Bruce Chatwin’s exquisite account of his journey through Patagonia teems with evocative descriptions, remarkable bits of history, and unforgettable anecdotes.

Continue reading “In Patagonia”

Book Cover

The Penguin book of migration literature: departures, arrivals, generations, returns

Author:  Dohra Ahmad, editor; Edwidge Danticat, writer of foreword

Language: English

Summary: [Ahmad’s] “introduction is fiery and charismatic… This book encompasses the diversity of experience, with beautiful variations and stories that bicker back and forth.” –Parul Sehgal, The New York Times

The first global anthology of migration literature featuring works by Mohsin Hamid, Zadie Smith, Marjane Satrapi, Salman Rushdie, and Warsan Shire, with a foreword by Edwidge Danticat, author of Everything Inside
Continue reading “The Penguin book of migration literature: departures, arrivals, generations, returns”

Book Cover

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Author: Robin Ha

Language: English

Summary:

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

Continue reading “Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir”