Book Cover

The Penguin book of migration literature: departures, arrivals, generations, returns

Author:  Dohra Ahmad, editor; Edwidge Danticat, writer of foreword

Language: English

Summary: [Ahmad’s] “introduction is fiery and charismatic… This book encompasses the diversity of experience, with beautiful variations and stories that bicker back and forth.” –Parul Sehgal, The New York Times

The first global anthology of migration literature featuring works by Mohsin Hamid, Zadie Smith, Marjane Satrapi, Salman Rushdie, and Warsan Shire, with a foreword by Edwidge Danticat, author of Everything Inside
Continue reading “The Penguin book of migration literature: departures, arrivals, generations, returns”

Book Cover

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Author: Robin Ha

Language: English

Summary:

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

Continue reading “Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir”

Mondi al limite. Nove scrittori per Medici senza frontiere

Author: Alessandro Baricco, Stefano Benni, Gianrico Carofiglio, Mauro Covacich, Sandrone Dazieri, Silvia Di Natale, Paolo Giordano, Antonio Pascale, Domenico Starnone

Language: Italian

Summary:

Nove scrittori italiani (Alessandro Baricco, Stefano Benni, Gianrico Carofiglio, Mauro Covacich, Sandrone Dazieri, Silvia Di Natale, Paolo Giordano, Antonio Pascale, Domenico Starnone) raccontano la realtà di alcune aree, in cui MSF opera.

Continue reading “Mondi al limite. Nove scrittori per Medici senza frontiere”

Book Cover

O Come Ye Back to Ireland: Our First Year in County Clare

Author: Niall Williams, Christine Breen

Language: English

Summary: A story of a young couple who abandoned their careers in New York and moved to Ireland tells of their idyllic life in a cottage, surrounded by the beauty and character of the land of their ancestors. (Goodreads)

Continue reading “O Come Ye Back to Ireland: Our First Year in County Clare”