Il té letterario di Expatclic dell’11 dicembre 2020

Oggi abbiamo parlato di Graphic Stories. Un argomento particolare, che abbiamo affrontato con un po’ d’apprensione perchè in tutte le nostre discussioni passate, e in tutti i riferimenti che si sono incrociati in queste, gli accenni alle Graphic Novels sono stati pochissimi. E invece siam venute via con una lista ricchissima di titoli, e con una bella chiacchierata all’attivo del nostro fantastico gruppo. Alcuni titoli … Continue reading Il té letterario di Expatclic dell’11 dicembre 2020

book cover

Illegal

Author: Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano (Illustrator)

Language: English

Summary: This is a powerful and timely story about one boy’s epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children’s Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.

Continue reading “Illegal”

Book Cover

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Author: Robin Ha

Language: English

Summary:

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

Continue reading “Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir”

book cover

American Born Chinese

Author: Gene Luen Yang

Language: English

Summary: Jin Wang starts at a new school where he’s the only Chinese-American student. When a boy from Taiwan joins his class, Jin doesn’t want to be associated with an FOB like him. Jin just wants to be an all-American boy, because he’s in love with an all-American girl.

Continue reading “American Born Chinese”

You can never find a rickshaw when it monsoons: the world on one cartoon a day

Author: Mo Willems

Language: English

Summary: On June 1, 1990, less than a week after graduating college, Mo Willems embarked on a yearlong trip around the world. Traveling with only a notebook, pen and ink, and one change of clothes, he spent the next twelve months backpacking across more than thirty countries. Continue reading “You can never find a rickshaw when it monsoons: the world on one cartoon a day”