Huda F Are You?

Author: Huda Fahmi

Language: English

Summary: Huda and her family just moved to Dearborn, Michigan, a small town with a big Muslim population. In her old town, Huda knew exactly who she was: She was the hijabi girl. But in Dearborn, everyone is the hijabi girl.

Continue reading “Huda F Are You?”

book cover

The Battle of Churubusco: American Rebels in the Mexican-American War

Author: Andrea Ferraris

Language: English

Summary: Today, Churubusco is a residential suburb of Mexico City. But in 1847, it was the stronghold of the San Patricios, a motley battalion of soldiers — including some runaway American slaves — who deserted the United States Army for a just, if suicidal, cause. Continue reading “The Battle of Churubusco: American Rebels in the Mexican-American War”

Té letterario dell’11 dicembre 2020: Le graphic stories

Oggi abbiamo parlato di Graphic Stories. Un argomento particolare, che abbiamo affrontato con un po’ d’apprensione perchè in tutte le nostre discussioni passate, e in tutti i riferimenti che si sono incrociati in queste, gli accenni alle Graphic Novels sono stati pochissimi. E invece siam venute via con una lista ricchissima di titoli, e con una bella chiacchierata all’attivo del nostro fantastico gruppo. Alcuni titoli … Continue reading Té letterario dell’11 dicembre 2020: Le graphic stories

book cover

Illegal

Author: Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano (Illustrator)

Language: English

Summary: This is a powerful and timely story about one boy’s epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children’s Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.

Continue reading “Illegal”

Book Cover

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Author: Robin Ha

Language: English

Summary:

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

Continue reading “Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir”

book cover

American Born Chinese

Author: Gene Luen Yang

Language: English

Summary: Jin Wang starts at a new school where he’s the only Chinese-American student. When a boy from Taiwan joins his class, Jin doesn’t want to be associated with an FOB like him. Jin just wants to be an all-American boy, because he’s in love with an all-American girl.

Continue reading “American Born Chinese”