book cover

Paper Wishes

Author: Lois Sepahban

Language: English

Summary: A ten-year-old Manami did not realize how peaceful her family’s life on Bainbridge Island was until the day it all changed. It’s 1942, after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Manami and her family are Japanese American, which means that the government says they must leave their home by the sea and join other Japanese Americans at a prison camp in the desert.

Continue reading “Paper Wishes”

Book Cover

A Taste of the World: What People Eat and How They Celebrate Around the Globe

Author: Beth Walrond (Author, Illustrator), Little Gestalten (Editor)

Language: English

Summary: Festive feasts from around the world to bring people together, celebrate and share stories. Food glorious food! Everyone loves a feast with the family … even the little ones! A Taste of the World travels across the globe uncovering different dishes, traditions, cultures and festivals from Egypt to Germany, from China to America.

Continue reading “A Taste of the World: What People Eat and How They Celebrate Around the Globe”

book cover

Illegal

Author: Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano (Illustrator)

Language: English

Summary: This is a powerful and timely story about one boy’s epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children’s Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.

Continue reading “Illegal”

Book Cover

Other Words for Home

Author: Jasmine Warga

Language: English

Summary:

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

Continue reading “Other Words for Home”

Book Cover

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Author: Robin Ha

Language: English

Summary:

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

Continue reading “Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir”