book cover

I am not your perfect Mexican daughter

Author: Erika L. Sánchez

Language: English

Summary: Perfect Mexican daughters do not go away to college. And they do not move out of their parents’ house after high school graduation. Perfect Mexican daughters never abandon their family.

But Julia is not your perfect Mexican daughter. That was Olga’s role.
Continue reading “I am not your perfect Mexican daughter”

book cover

Paper Wishes

Author: Lois Sepahban

Language: English

Summary: A ten-year-old Manami did not realize how peaceful her family’s life on Bainbridge Island was until the day it all changed. It’s 1942, after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Manami and her family are Japanese American, which means that the government says they must leave their home by the sea and join other Japanese Americans at a prison camp in the desert.

Continue reading “Paper Wishes”

book cover

Illegal

Author: Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano (Illustrator)

Language: English

Summary: This is a powerful and timely story about one boy’s epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children’s Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.

Continue reading “Illegal”

Book Cover

Other Words for Home

Author: Jasmine Warga

Language: English

Summary:

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

Continue reading “Other Words for Home”

Book Cover

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Author: Robin Ha

Language: English

Summary:

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

Continue reading “Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir”

book cover

American Born Chinese

Author: Gene Luen Yang

Language: English

Summary: Jin Wang starts at a new school where he’s the only Chinese-American student. When a boy from Taiwan joins his class, Jin doesn’t want to be associated with an FOB like him. Jin just wants to be an all-American boy, because he’s in love with an all-American girl.

Continue reading “American Born Chinese”